May 2018

Meet Your New NACE President
Rich Sanders

Richard Sanders, PE, Polk County Engineer, Minnesota, was installed as NACE President at the Annual Banquet on April 25 in the Wisconsin Dells.

Rich announced the primary initiatives to be implemented during his term. "With Kevan Stone serving as NACE’s new Executive Director, our priority is to get Kevan out to as many states as possible to visit with our affiliates and their delegates.  NACE’s strength is in our members.  We must strengthen this relationship so that when it comes to advocating for county infrastructure in Washington, DC, we know what our members needs are.

"Second is our increased vision in Gravel Road Safety. NACE has implemented an Unpaved Roads Committee that will work hand in hand with our Safety Committee to increase our efforts on unpaved road safety, maintenance and preservation.

"Third, NACE is working to complete our first Road to Zero grant through the National Safety Center (NSC).  NACE will evaluate local road fatality data and strategically identify 5 key states to facilitate a gathering of stakeholders. The top 5 states represent 33% of all the fatalities. The goal is to improve the collaboration between state and local agencies to facilitate the implementation of proven and successful practices."

Rich will serve a one year term as President, having been elected as President-Elect in 2017. He has served as County Engineer since 2002. Rich served as NACE North Central Vice President in 2013-2015, and President for the Minnesota County Engineers Association in 2013.

Rich chaired the Minnesota Local Road Research Boards Research Implementation Committee for 3 years. He currently serves on the Minnesota  LTAP Steering Committee.

NACE Officers 2018-2019

L-R Front: Richie Beyer, PE, Elmore County, Ala., NACo Representative
Rich Sanders, PE, Polk County, Minn., President
Chris Champion, PE, Henry County, Ala., Southeast Region Vice President

Brian Keierleber, PE, Buchanan County, Iowa, Immediate Past President
Kevin Russel, PE, Harrison County, Ind., Northeast Region Vice President
Scott McGolpin, PE, Santa Barbara County, Calif., Secretary/Treasurer

L-R Back: Mark Storey, Whitman County, Wash., Western Region Vice President
Tim Hens, PE, Genesee County, N.Y., President Elect
Jeff Blue, PE, Champaign County, Ill., North Central Region Vice President
Todd Kinney, PE, Clinton County, Iowa, South Central Region Vice President


Visit our Corporate Partners by clicking on their ads!


Congrats Scott! Recipient of the David Brand Safety Award

Carl Schoedel Awarded Urban County Engineer of the Year

NACE Recognizes Tom Klasner as Rural Engineer of the Year

Robert Riley Named as Project Manager of the Year

Thank Our Annual Conference Sponsors

NACE Welcomes Kevan Stone as Executive Director

Meet Your New NACE President Rich Sanders

NACE Made Great Strides during Brian Keierleber's Presidency

Happy Tweeting on NACE's New Twitter Page

NACE 2018 in Pictures

Join a NACo Committee to Make a Difference

Empowering Your Engineer

WOTUS Updates included in Trump Regulatory Plan

Committee Leaders Unveil Senate WRDA Bill

House Unveils WRDA Bill

Mohave County, Arizona, Seeks Civil Engineer

Genesee County, Michigan, Seeks Managing Director

Minnehaha County, S.D., Seeks Operations Manager