May 2018

Congrats Scott Davis! Recipient of the David Brand Safety Award


The National Association of County Engineers (NACE) awarded Scott Davis, PE, the 2018 David P. Brand Safety Award during its 2018 Annual Conference held April 22-26 in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. Since 2005, Davis has served as Traffic Engineer for Thurston County, Washington.

“Roadway safety is job 1 for Scott,” said Brian Keierleber, P.E., NACE President 2017-2018 and Buchanan County, Iowa, Engineer. “His relationship with Dave (Brand) led to his incorporating TZD (Toward Zero Deaths) in Thurston County. Scott’s was the only local agency to pilot FHWA’s Systemic Safety Project Selection Tool in 2012. Since then, they’ve had a 35% reduction in fatal and injury crashes on curves. Now that’s impressive.”


L-R - NACE President Brian Keierleber presents the Safety Award to Scott Davis
with Awards Chair Greg Parker.


Through Scott’s leadership, Thurston County has received funding from state and federal grant programs, including $1.6 million in Safe Route to Schools funds and $4 million in Highway Safety Improvement Program funds.

Thurston County was one of the first agencies to train county crews in the installation and maintenance of high friction surface treatment.

In the community, Scott’s team is pro-active in promoting safety. From 2013 to 2017, they hosted over 400 meetings with neighborhoods to discuss traffic calming concerns. Plus, this outreach strengthens community trust in local government.

At the state and national level, Scott has become a resource for other agencies. He assisted the Washington State Department of Transportation’s (WSDOT) efforts on statewide local road safety program.

Scott has served as Chair of the NACE Safety and Technology Committee since 2014, Secretary of the Transportation Research Board’s (TRB) Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) subcommittee since 2013, and Co-Chair of Task Group 6, Local Agency Safety Coordination of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ (AASHTO) Standing Committee on Highway Traffic Safety - subcommittee on Safety Management (SCOHTS-SM).

The David P. Brand Safety Award was initiated in 2017. Brand, a champion of local road safety, was Madison County, Ohio, Engineer. Brand had represented NACE on numerous national roadway safety initiatives, including the Center for Excellence in Rural Safety (CERS), the National Local Technical Assistance Program Association (NLTAPA) Roadway Safety Working Group, the Every Day Counts (EDC) Safety Edge Team, Toward Zero Deaths (TZD), and the National Center for Rural Road Safety.


Visit our Corporate Partners by clicking on their ads!


Congrats Scott! Recipient of the David Brand Safety Award

Carl Schoedel Awarded Urban County Engineer of the Year

NACE Recognizes Tom Klasner as Rural Engineer of the Year

Robert Riley Named as Project Manager of the Year

Thank Our Annual Conference Sponsors

NACE Welcomes Kevan Stone as Executive Director

Meet Your New NACE President Rich Sanders

NACE Made Great Strides during Brian Keierleber's Presidency

Happy Tweeting on NACE's New Twitter Page

NACE 2018 in Pictures

Join a NACo Committee to Make a Difference

Empowering Your Engineer

WOTUS Updates included in Trump Regulatory Plan

Committee Leaders Unveil Senate WRDA Bill

House Unveils WRDA Bill

Mohave County, Arizona, Seeks Civil Engineer

Genesee County, Michigan, Seeks Managing Director

Minnehaha County, S.D., Seeks Operations Manager