November 2017 

Missouri’s Road to Saving Lives Design-Build Project

Franklin and Jefferson Counties' Locations were Selected

Winner of a National Roadway Safety Award


Missouri was awarded 1 of 9 National Roadway Safety Awards on November 15 in Washington, D.C. The awards, a biennial competition which began in 1999, are a partnership of the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Roadway Safety Foundation. They acknowledge successful approaches to improving roadway safety at the state and local level.

The Safety Problem: In the last decade, 8,752 motorists have died on Missouri’s roads, leaving the state searching for an effective way to implement its Toward Zero Deaths strategy.

The Solution: Five Design-Build teams competed in a unique procurement process to offer MoDOT the most cost-effective safety treatments based on Highway Safety Manual analysis.

The Result: A winning bid to address improvements at all 31 identified locations, projected to prevent 73 deaths and serious injuries over 10 years and be completed nine months ahead of schedule.


During the last 10 years, 8,752 motorists left on a trip in Missouri, but never made it to their destination. Unfortunately they joined more than 36,000 other motorists annually in this country who ended their trip, unexpectedly, as a tragic statistic.

Bill Schnell, MoDOT Assistant District Engineer, accepted the award.

L-R: Gregory Cohen, PE, Roadway Safety Foundation Executive Director; Bill Schnell; Brandye Hendrickson, FHWA Acting Administrator; and Beth Alicandri, FHWA Associate Administrator for Safety.


MoDOT’s St. Louis District developed a bold strategy to implement Missouri’s Blueprint: A Partnership Towards Zero Deaths, the state’s strategic highway safety plan. Utilizing three-year crash data, they identified 31 locations with the highest safety concerns in two counties, Franklin and Jefferson. Then, they chose five teams comprised of nationally known traffic/safety consultants and contractors to deliver safety proposals to MoDOT.

The teams competed in a unique design-build procurement which emphasized implementing the most cost-effective safety treatments utilizing Highway Safety Manual (HSM) analysis. A fixed price, $24.11 million, variable scope contract encouraged teams to provide the maximum safety benefit with the dollars available.

Proposals were scored based on four categories and one of those categories was HSM safety analysis. HSM analysis was required for each proposed safety improvement, including calculations of the projected reduction of fatal and serious injury crashes.

The best value team targeted safety improvements at all 31 locations. Their proposal included system-wide application of high-friction surface treatment (HFST), inlaid pavement markers, transverse rumble strips, LED stop signs, intersection conflict warning system (ICWS) and a roundabout. Over the period of 10 years, the project is expected to prevent 73 fatal and serious injury crashes. In addition, the project is projected to be completed nine months ahead of MoDOT’s requirement in the initial procurement.

"These awards recognize real and innovative solutions to some of the nation's biggest safety challenges," said Acting Federal Highway Administrator Brandye L. Hendrickson. "We commend this year's winners for their efforts in saving lives on our nation's roads, and invite others across the country to put these life-saving solutions to work."

Read the List of Winners and details on their roadway safety innovations.

This year's judges were from a variety of disciplines.

King W. Gee, Director of Engineering andTechnical Services, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials 
Mike Griffith, Director, FHWA's Office of Safety Technologies 
Bruce Hamilton, Director of Safety and Research Programs, Roadway Safety Foundation 
Bernardo Kleiner, Senior Program Officer/Transportation Safety Specialist, Transportation Research Board 
Jennifer Smith, Director, Image and Brands, Michelin 
Dr. Marie Walsh, Director, Louisiana Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) 
Terecia Wilson, Senior Fellow, Clemson University Institute for Global Road Safety and Security


Visit our NACE Corporate Partners by clicking on their ads!


Counties in the Forefront for National Roadway Safety Awards

Minnesota Implements County Roadway Safety Plans for All Counties

Kent County Road Commission among the Partners in the Expedited Towing Program

Franklin and Jefferson Counties Participate in Missouri's Road to Saving Lives

Plan Your NACE 2018 Travel

County Engineers Association of California Staying Strong

EPA, Corps Propose 2 Year WOTUS Rule Delay

DOT Releases First Details on Unmanned Aerial Systems Integration Pilot Program

Take a Brief Pavement Preservation Techniques Survey

NACE Welcomes Strata Systems as Newest Corporate Member

Voters Demonstrate Support for Transportation Investments

Attending TACERA - What a Welcome as the Newest NACE VP

Bipartisan Lawmakers Ready Infrastructure Report

Free Webinar - Ultra High Performace Concrete for Local Agencies

Find the Safety Webinar for You!

Why Best Autonomous Self-Driving Connected Cars Research Shows Not the Next iPhone

County Engineer Position in Coconino County, Arizona

Engineering Division Manager Position in Cononino County, Arizona

Kent Washington Seeking Engineer III - Pavement Management Position